Chakras For Beginners: Healing, Balancing, Opening Chakras: Exercises, Foods, Colors

by | Oct 23, 2017 | Chakras

The seven chakras are the centers in our bodies in which energy flows through. Blocked energy in our seven chakras can often lead to illness, so it’s important to understand what each chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely.

Here’s a quick summary:

Root Chakra
Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.
Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money and food.
The 1st Chakra, the Root Chakra, represents our foundation and is all about feeling grounded and secure.
Color: Red
Healing Exercises:

Stomping your bare feet on the ground. Remember, the Root Chakra is all about feeling “grounded.”
Practicing Kundalini Yoga can open up your lower spine. Bridge Pose is another good yoga pose to try out.
Healing Foods:

Red colored foods like apples and beets
Hot spices like red cayenne peppers and Tabasco sauce
Vegetables from the ground like potatoes and carrots
Animal proteins like red meat and eggs

Sacral Chakra
The 2nd Chakra, the Sacral Chakra, relates to our ability to feel creative, sexual, and accept change. Here’s what you need to know about Sacral Chakra healing:
Location of our Sacral Chakra: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
Emotional issues affecting our Sacral Chakra: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

Color: Orange
Healing Exercises:

Pelvic thrusts
Cobra Yoga Pose
Healing Foods:

Orange colored foods like oranges and tangerines
Solar Plexus Chakra
The 3rd Chakra, the Solar Plexus Chakra, represents our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. Here’s what you need to know about Solar Plexus Chakra healing:
Location of our Solar Plexus Chakra: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
What affects our Solar Plexus Chakra: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

Color: Yellow
Healing Exercises:

Kundalini Yoga: Boat Pose (see photo above)
Dancing. Shake those hips!
Healing Foods:

Yellow colored foods like corn
Grains and fiber like granola and whole wheat bread
Teas like peppermint and chamomile tea
Heart Chakra
The 4th Chakra, the Heart Chakra, represents our ability to love — the quality of our love, our past loves and our future loves. Here’s what you need to know about Heart Chakra healing:
Location of our Heart Chakra: Center of chest just above heart
What affects our Heart Chakra: Love, joy, inner peace

Color: Green
Healing Exercises:

Bikram Yoga
Love, love, love. Simply opening up our hearts to others is the best healing exercise to open up the Heart Chakra.
Healing Foods:

Green colored foods like leafy vegetables and spinach
Green tea
Throat Chakra
The 5th Chakra, the Throat Chakra, represents our ability to communicate and express ourselves. Here’s what you need to know about Throat Chakra healing:
Location of our Throat Chakra: Throat
What affects our Throat Chakra: Communication, self-expression of feelings, speaking the truth, holding secrets

Color: Blue
Healing Exercises:

Shoulder stand
Singing, chanting
Healing Foods:

Juices and teas
All types of fruits
Third Eye Chakra
The 6th Chakra (the Third Eye Chakra), is related to our ability to focus on and see the big picture. Here’s what you need to know about Third Eye Chakra healing:
Location of our Third Eye Chakra: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra)
Issues affecting our Third Eye Chakra: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions

Color: Indigo
Healing Exercises:

Child’s Pose or other types of yoga poses with forward bends
Eye exercises
Herbal oil treatment
Healing Foods:

Purple colored fruits like grapes and blueberries
Lavender flavored spices or tea
Crown Chakra
The 7th and highest Chakra, the Crown Chakra, represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. Here’s what you need to know about opening and healing the Crown Chakra:
The location of our Crown Chakra: The very top of our head
What affects our Crown Chakra: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss

Color: Violet
Healing Exercises:

Running or cardio
Healing Foods: Since the Crown Chakra represents our spiritual connection to our surroundings, this Chakra does not benefit from healing foods. The Crown Chakra is more likely to benefit from breathing clean and fresh air and sunshine.